Song from Game of Thrones S02E09 (Blackwater) – The Rains of Castamere (The National)

The song Bronn and his men were singing before the battle, and playing at the end of the episode. It’s a really sad song, which is not usually the emotion I associate with the Lannisters, heh. Stannis and Davos should have a song.

I like this version better! It’s more rousing, rather than mournful. The Lannisters might be evil, but they’re not really mournful and sad people.

The Rains of Castamere (The National)

And who are you, the proud lord said,
that I must bow so low?
Only a cat of a different coat,
that’s all the truth I know.
In a coat of gold or a coat of red,
a lion still has claws,
And mine are long and sharp, my lord,
as long and sharp as yours.
And so he spoke, and so he spoke,
that lord of Castamere,
But now the rains weep o’er his hall,
with no one there to hear.
Yes now the rains weep o’er his hall,
and not a soul to hear.

Leave a comment