Song from House M.D S08E20 (Post Mortem) – Trick of the Moonlight by Gareth Dunlop

The song playing at the beginning of House Season 8 Episode 20, Trick of the Moonlight by Gareth Dunlop.

Trick of the Moonlight (Gareth Dunlop)

Here comes the night
When all the ghosts come out
I’m haunted by everything
That reminds me of my sin

I feel it’s all slowing down somehow
But those lights above are racing by
It’s a trick of the moonlight (2x)

Here lies the ground
That swallowed all it’s found
I can hear them, they’re singing out strong
A tribute to what’s gone wrong

I feel it’s all slowing down somehow
But those lights above, they’re racing by
It’s a trick of the moonlight (4x)

Here starts the race
No one finishing, they only quit
Quitting for greater things
Starting another endless game

I feel it’s all slowing down somehow
But those lights above, they’re racing by
It’s a trick of the moonlight (4x)

2 thoughts on “Song from House M.D S08E20 (Post Mortem) – Trick of the Moonlight by Gareth Dunlop

  1. I think this song is about the perfect storm of despair; the accumulation of day-lengthening guilt, an awareness of our insignificance in comparison to the cosmos and a tragic epiphany of the cyclical, futile track of human ambition. What do you think?

    • It’s perfect for that opening scene 🙂 Even though we’ve never seen that dead patient and her family before, I really felt for them, because of this song playing in the background.

Leave a comment