if you do not love me I shall not be loved, if I do not love you I shall not love

terrified again
of not loving
of loving and not you
of being loved and not by you

My sister is visiting, and we did a love story marathon last night – one tearjerker (Ghost) and one romcom (Love Actually). I last saw Ghost years ago as a teenager, and I honestly thought I’d be more skeptical this time around (oh, please!) But nope, I still cried. This song … it’s too much, even shirtless!PatrickSwayze couldn’t distract me.

My favorite story in Love Actually is the Emma Thompson/Alan Rickman marriage, but Bill Nighy the dissolute yet somehow still charming rake is a very close second. My sister is aghast. “Bill Nighy?? He’s like, older than Dad!” Hah!

Leave a Reply

